r/photoshop • u/turtlemaui • 2d ago
Help! Why do my keyboards shortcuts reset?
I set my own keyboard shortcuts in my preferences and it often resets back to the standard settings. Its super annoying. Anyone else? Is it user error? lol
2
u/johngpt5 60 helper points | Adobe Community Expert 9h ago

As u/PECourtejoie mentioned, we can go to Window > Workspace > New Workspace and save a workspace, giving it a name and it will save panel locations, keyboard shortcuts, menus, and toolbar.
We can create workspaces for various things we do. Most of the time I like having my Tony Kuyper TK9 plugin panels set up like this. All I need to do after saving the workspace is click on Reset the workspace and it all is back to being organized how I like it.
I also have a saved workspace the doesn't show the TK9 panels so that the workspace looks more vanilla for when I don't want to have a too complicated looking screen shot when showing something about Ps.
After creating the saved workspace, we should navigate in our computer's file system to where the file is located and back that .psw file up to our backup drive.
1
u/turtlemaui 8h ago
Thats helpful thank you
2
u/johngpt5 60 helper points | Adobe Community Expert 8h ago
If we create custom actions, brushes, gradients, or patterns, we should use those panels to export what we've created as it is all too easy to lose what we've done when an update goes awry, or when we have to reinstall Ps.
After exporting, I'll navigate to those exported .abr, .atn, .grd files and back them up to my external backup drive.
3
1
u/SignedUpJustForThat 2d ago
Which version of Photoshop are you using? Which operating system? And when is "often"?
1
u/turtlemaui 2d ago
The latest version 27.11. On Windows 11. I'm not sure precisely how often it resets, but maybe once a month?
1
2
u/Edra-Geymeier 2d ago
this usually happens when the preferences file gets corrupted or doesnt save properly on close. try closing the app normally instead of force quitting and see if that fixes it
2
u/PECourtejoie Adobe Community Expert 2d ago
Hi, they are linked to your workspace. Are you switching them? You can save both the .kys and the workspace to file for easy retrieval